Jon Sheffield
It's Been so Long Since I've Seen the Ocean

Tom012 - Cover Artwork
Tom012 - Cover Artwork

Jon Sheffield
It's Been so Long Since I've Seen the Ocean


Released 7/08/2001


Add To Cart

With It's been so long sine I've seen the ocean Jon Sheffield is presenting his very own sketch for a wonderful universe of sounds. With an amazing ease he merges electronic sounds with acoustic instruments (melodica, guitar and others) and wonderful voice samples that slip in between more like a sound and that bring a very emotional aspect into his songs ("Dear Yma"). His skills for arrangements make all tracks sound very dense and here and there beautiful melodies emerge from his songs that give the overall album a warm and sometimes even melancholic feel.

  1. Happy Aluminium Dennis
  2. Poptart
  3. Topics Collide
  4. Dear Yma
  5. Whimsican Dial
  6. Tribe (For Crow)
  7. Another Sunny Afternoon
  8. Antarctica (For Gabriel)
  9. Chocolate Spoon
  10. Oisac
  11. Vaudeville
"After wracking my brain for weeks now trying to think of what Sheffield's work reminds me of, it finally came to me this afternoon: it's most like the music and sounds that the Magnetic Fields put on "Distant Plastic Trees". Other Music
"a convincing debut." All Music Guide