Tom026 - Cover Artwork
Tom026 - Cover Artwork



Released 26/06/2003




Add To Cart

Fonica ist a male - female Duo from Tokyo, Japan - Keiichi Sugimoto and Cheason. Their debut Ripple (released in CD format in Japan in November 2002) has been highly acclaimed in their home country and is now published by Tomlab in Europe and North America. The Tomlab version comes as CD/LP with special Artwork and a reduced tracklisting (the Japan release contains 2 additional tracks - remixes by Sogar/12k as well as by Mitchell Akiyama/raster noton).

Fonica use a lot of live instruments and DSP processing in parallel. Their approach of combining electronic and acoustic is very spontaneous and is so beautiful, revelling and dreamy in a way that can only be described by using the band Mum as a reference. "Ripple" works without ressorting to clichees or kitsch: Fonica manage to lay the paths of something that could become pop one day – somewhere in between the 2 extremes Oval and Jim O’Rourke.

And the most wonderful part in all of this: Ripple doesn't sound like a typical, eclectic, japan style combination of references. Fonica have been inspired by quite a couple of things out there but at the same time they have managed to record an album that shows a unique character, very charming, joyful - a pleasure to listen to.

"Ripple is a wonderfully satisfying and succinct little record, a beautiful synthesis of guitar and electronics."
"Although it strays pretty far from anything even approaching 'beats' this is a pop album full of tightly edited rhythms and pin point specific finger picking that will certainly leave heads shaking and maybe even a few feet tapping. Recommended." Other Music
  1. Soar
  2. Twang
  3. Whirr
  4. Perch
  5. Fluid
  6. Coda
  7. Rusl
  8. Zephyr