Various Arists
Antologia de Música Electrónica Portuguesa

Tom038 - Cover Artwork
Tom038 - Cover Artwork

Various Arists
Antologia de Música Electrónica Portuguesa


Released 14/09/2004

Add To Cart
This anthology covers authors and works informed by very different cultural backgrounds, normal as it is to the "inhabitants" of each cultural environment to live in somehow isolated communities. My goal was to weave a historic thread that would freely cross boundaries between the authors' cultural territories and also to document as many approaches to electronic music as possible, both on material and conceptual levels.
It's a work that i approached with both an artistic and personal perspective. That is to say, the anthology is also to be a work on its own, and relations between the pieces represented were determined by musical criteria, rather than chronological or other. I also intended to provide a view into each author in a possibly surprising way, always trying to escape each one’s typical image, as well as to subtly evoke a playful dimension in creative processes.
These excerpts were chosen (by Plancton Music at first and myself later) because of their musical importance and historic relevance (either collective or personal). However, using this approach, the present anthology couldn't and wouldn't pretend to be exhaustive or complete.

Written by Rafael Toral

Note from Tomlab: This edition comes with a 24 page booklet with extensive background information about the composers and musicians involved with this compilation.

  1. Nuno Canavarro – Alsee (1987)
  2. Cândido Lima – Oceanos – (1978)
  3. Nuno Rebelo - New Amp – (1984)
  4. Isabel Soveral - Anamorphoses I (1994)
  5. Filipe Pires - Homo Sapiens (1972)
  6. Telectu - Performance # (1984)
  7. Jorge Peixinho - Elegia a Amílcar Cabral (1973)
  8. Rafael Toral - Mills Session (introdução) (1997)
  9. João Pedro Oliveira - Silence to Light (1992)
  10. Anar Band – Plasticman (1977)
  11. René Bertholo - África Aqui  (1996)
  12. Carlos Zíngaro - #444-07 (1981)
  13. Emanuel Dimas de Melo Pimenta - Lisbon Revisited (1986)
  14. No Noise Reduction - RLO II (1995)
  15. António Ferreira - O Verão Nasceu da Paixão de 1921 (1988)
"This record isn't merely about the unsung heroes of electronic music, it's not a fetishistic collector's object geared towards allowing obsessive listeners to gain an expert knowledge in their field of interest. Antologia de Música Electrónica Portuguesa is the work of inquisitive artists rebuilding a culture after the fall of a long dictatorship, and it is a declaration of a musical culture largely unheard by the rest of the world." Dusted Magazine