Various Artists
Puppy Love

tom105 - Cover Artwork
tom105 - Cover Artwork

Various Artists
Puppy Love


Released 25/09/2007

Add To Cart

TOMLAB is ten.

The present landmark compilation shows how eventful this past decade has been for the label. Whereas other labels are struggling for an identity and recognizibility of the brand, Tomlab has always preferred restless development and research. With this approach the international player has achieved a really unique position: a poignant label profile based on a heterogenous roster. Where is the balance between unpredictability and label sound? How does endless search for innovation translate into corporate identity?

Puppy Love might be the answer. Regardless of the diversity of the tracks compiled here you can grasp a common sense or understanding of pop music. An understanding that reflects the restlesness and the concentration that is part of the way Tomlab is working as a label. The Blow and Hey Willpower are opening this compilation with a blink to the charts and No Kids are keeping up with an amazing ease in a rather strange Bollywood excursion. Then follows a club track by Misha, a perfect prankster action hit from Khan and a hysteric hypnotic track from Les Georges Leningrad. This list could be continued in any order - in fact all contributions seem to stick together magically, the big bracket that is holding everything together is what makes Tomlab.

  1. The Blow – Parentheses
  2. Hey Willpower - Hundredaire
  3. No Kids – Old Iron Gate (Previously Unreleased)
  4. Misha – Scars
  5. Khan – Favour After Favour
  6. Ninja High School – Catholic Fashion
  7. Simon Bookish - Prince Of Wales (Previously Unreleased)
  8. Casiotone For The Painfully Alone – It Wasn’t The Same Somehow
  9. Munch Munch – Wedding (Pt. 2) (Previously Unreleased)
  10. Dog Day – Night Group
  11. Les Georges Leningrad  - Skulls In The Closet
  12. Erase Errata – Pass The Crimson (Previously Unreleased)
  13. Urlaub In Polen – A Case Of Getting From B To C
  14. The Books - Smells Like Content
  15. Owen Pallett – Hey, Dad! (Previously Unreleased)
  16. Deerhoof  – Matchbook Seeks Maniac (Remix)(Previously Unreleased)
  17. Christopher  Francis – One (Previously Unreleased)
  18. Mantler  – Togethernest
  19. Patrick Wolf – Wind In The Wires
  20. Niobe – In The Sun
  21. Xiu Xiu – Suha