Casiotone For The Painfully Alone
Town Topic EP

tom122 - Cover Artwork
tom122 - Cover Artwork

Casiotone For The Painfully Alone
Town Topic EP


Released 11/08/2008
CDS/7" vinyl Single/Digital



Add To Cart

The Town Topic EP is the soundtrack to video artist and photographer Laurel Nakadate's debut feature film, ‘Stay The Same Never Change’.  Laurel commissioned Casiotone For The Painfully Alone's Owen Ashworth to provide all of the music for ‘Stay The Same Never Change’, right down to the character's ring tones.  Laurel's original intention was to use previously released Casiotone For The Painfully Alonesongs for the film's soundtrack, but Owen opted instead to re-construct the pre-existing material and blend it with a number of new pieces to create a cohesive score specifically for the project.  Built from the sounds of electric pianos, organs, Casio keyboards, a primitive monophonic sequencer/drum machine, and a shit ton of spring reverb, the music on the ’Town Topic EP’ parallels the stories of trouble-making Kansas City teenagers as they detonate explosives, eat at diners, watch fireworks, get kidnapped, and make a couple of phone calls over one sweltering Midwestern summer.

The Town Topic EP consists of thirteen short instrumental pieces, book-ended by the two vocal tracks that were recorded specifically for the film: "Ice Cream Truck," which, over a simulated July soundscape of Mr. Softee jingles, cicadas and trunk-rattling bass from passing cars, tells the story of criminal-minded kids who go joy-riding in a stolen ice cream truck and make other poorly-informed decisions along the way, and "Green Cotton Sweater (version)," which trumps the song's 2001 appearance on the Pocket Symphonies For Lonesome Subway Cars LP with blown-out drum machine rhythms, clattering pianos, and loads of vintage amp abuse.  Other stand-out tracks include "Town Topic (instrumental)," a jukebox-ready country shuffle that could easily be mistaken for the backing track of a long-lost Patsy Cline hit, and "Nashville Parthenon (instrumental)," which re-imagines the original electro arrangement as a lovely and minimal electric piano lullaby.

The Town Topic EP collects tracks from two limited, vinyl-only EPs (the ’Town Topic 7", released by OIB Records in Brighton, England, and STSNC INSTRUMENTALS 7", released by People In A Position To Know Recordings, Inc. in Olympia, WA), plus one bonus track, the previously unreleased "Lesley Gore on the Tami Show (instrumental)." 

The cover photograph, which features two of the actors from Stay The Same Never Change, was taken by Laurel Nakadate.

  1. Ice Cream Truck
  2. Town Topic (instrumental)
  3. I Love Creedence (instrumental)
  4. Lesley Gore on the TAMI Show (instrumental)
  5. Twinkle Echo (reverse)
  6. Nashville Parthenon (instrumental)
  7. STSNC
  8. Twinkle Echo (redux)
  9. I Like Common
  10. Possible Love Interest (ringtone
  11. Bad People (ringtone)
  12. OMG (ringtone)
  13. Probably Walkin Down The Street (ringtone)
  14. Ice Cream Truck (instrumental)
  15. Green Cotton Sweater (version)